Snap out of it!

We love to challenge ourselves here at C&J. You may have guessed.

Bring on the burpees. Lumber us with lunges or leg lifts. Make us suffer with squats; we don’t care.

Yeh ok I’m starting to come across a bit arrogant. I admit I probably head home after a big session success with a certain smugness.

But, and its a big but that ironically could result in something big; there is a demon that far too often wipes that smug feeling off mine and Jonny’s face.

There is a monster that lurks innocently in the shadow. It waits patiently, ready to lure us into its deadly trap.

It’s incredible how some evils don’t have to spring into action to corrupt their target. This particular evil attacks the temptation button with sumptuous smells, tastes and colours.

So I get home after conquering Everest but then whilst at my most vulnerable I hit a blizzard.

I am in fact talking about the dreaded F word…

Food is the Achilles heel.

Failure in this area is often uttered in hush tones in the world of men’s fitness. And for good reason. It is common knowledge that diet is the key to success in the gym.

Some even go as far to say that workout gain works on the basis of 90% diet and 10% gym.

Now I’m not sure how much truth can be taken from these figures, however the mere thought of this stat fills me and I’m sure many others, with dread.

So I get home, endorphins pumping through the blood and I’m feeling great. I even keep up the work with recovery protein shake.

I’m almost there!

All I need to do now is rustle up a nice tuna pasta and then its mission complete.

But no.

I open the fridge and find a pizza glaring at me with its puppy dog eyes.

‘Please eat me. I taste great all you have to do is throw me in the over for 15 minutes.’

I’m sold. Like a man in a trance, I find myself undressing the thing and then doing the unthinkable…

What was a great success has suddenly turned into a catastrophe.

Unfortunately this wasn’t my first time.

And the hardest thing to do is admit to myself that it’s a crisis. I’m sure Jonny would agree.

So with our ever scheming mind, we’ve come up with a plan.

Jonny has supplied us with a stack of strong elastic bands.

Sounds odd I know.

The concept is simple. We place a tight band around our wrist and every time we think, or go to eat an unhealthy food, we must ping the band against our skin with real conviction.

And guys believe me when I say, it hurts like a f****** B****! Its like being pierced with a hot rusty poker. Ok maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but it is not nice. Not only that it leaves a nice rosy mark for all to see.

This, I believe, is a technique Jonny has adapted from addiction conditioning, of which the concept is very much the same.

It sounds extreme, but maybe that’s what we need! Jonny has already began his therapy and I’ve reluctantly agreed its time I give it a go too.

Let’s just say the next few weeks are going to be painful. Let’s just hope it will be worth it!

Until the next time.

C&J Active

(Your everyday fitness friends)

Leave a comment